Alex’s runner profile

The Machine!

The Machine!

1)  What should your BRR Team 4tunate running nickname be (note: this will be assigned if you don’t submit)? The Machine.  It came down to that or “Achin’ Bunions.”  I decided I might need some positive reinforcement during the race.  For example:  “Alex, I know you haven’t slept in 24 hours and there’s 3,000’ of vertical gain over the first 100 yards of your next leg, but you can do it . . . because you’re The Machine!”

2)  How long have you been a runner? About 5 years ago, a neighbor suggested that Tracy (my wife) should try a triathlon.  I decided to tag along and have been running (and swimming and biking) since.
3)  Why do you run (or what are you running from?)? So I can keep up with my kids, eat lots of pizza, and give myself time to think.
4)  How many BRRs have you run? This will be my first.
5)  Last 3 races you have run? Amica Triathlon at Lake Wylie; Tri the Rock; Springmaid Road Race 10k.
6)  Upcoming events you might be training for? Springmaid Road Race 10k (or 1/2, if they have one this year); Charlotte Thunder Road Marathon.
7)  What Brand/Model running shoes do you run in? Asics 2000 series; most recently the 2120s.  The 2120 has been discontinued and I haven’t had any luck finding some in my size.  I bought a pair of 2140s and ran in them earlier this week, right out of the box. That run resulted in consideration of “Achin’ Bunions” as my team nickname.
8)  When you aren’t running you are  ______. Trying to work as efficiently as possible so I can spend more time with my family.
9)  Favorite/Rave Run (location, course, etc.)? Anywhere on the Anne Springs Close Greenway in Fort Mill.  Also, the section of the run from my neighborhood into Fort Mill that goes through the peach / pecan orchards, across from Mrs. Close’s horse pasture; saw two deer about 30’ off the path early one morning this week.  Pretty cool.
10) What is the running accomplishment you are most proud of achieving? Finishing the ‘07 Myrtle Beach Marathon (my one and only, although I’m thinking about running it again in ‘10, as well as Charlotte Thunder Road later this year).
11) Favorite BRR Memory (or for 1st timers:  why do the BRR?)? I love running and the mountains; the BRR seemed like a good combination.   Jason S. also did a good job talking about how much fun it can be to spend 30 hours in a van, without sleep, with a bunch of sweaty runners.  And, I’ll admit, I’m looking forward to being able to say I ran the BRR as part of a six-person team.

12) What is your favorite running song currently in your ipod? I haven’t listed to my iPod on a run in awhile, but in my current running playlist you’d probably find some Jane’s Addiction, U2, Rush, The Who, Led Zeppelin, REM, Coldplay, The Cult, Run-DMC, and maybe even a Duran-Duran song or two . . . .

5 Responses

  1. […] Alex S – Sub-6 hour half-iron man finisher, marathon, 1-time Ultra BRR finisher and proud papa of 3. […]

  2. Thanks Melissa, but Kevin is just being nice! Kevin, as for the haircut, Tracy claims the kids distracted her . . .

  3. Yeah, Alex – The Machine is about right. Achin’ Bunions may be right too, but Mechanical Bunions at that.

    Nice haircut by the way. I heard you lost a bet or something. 🙂

  4. From what Kevin tells me, you ARE the machine during races! I’ll see you at the start line at Thunder Road – and then you can see me finish much, much later than you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

