A Bit on Training…

Have I said how excited I am to be on such an enthusiastic team?  Seriously – this is going to be a great one!  Over the next week or so I expect to get the green light for us to complete the official online runner applications – just awaiting confirmation that Ken has received our entry fees.  In the meantime I am digging up the old laminated maps from last year, trying to find the shirt design and starting to remind myself on the race legs and their composition.  We are officially 7 weeks out (actually a bit under) so no time like the present to capture a few thoughts on training.

  • Running uphill won’t hurt at this point.
  • Trying on some runs at different times of day than your normal running time also is good.
  • 7 weeks out is a good time to take a 4-5 miler after dinner and do it again before breakfast the next day.  Maybe repeat a day or two later.
  • If you are a music junkie like me, start weening yourself from the iPod (they are STRICTLY forbidden).
  • Start mentally building the pace you want to run per leg and tie it to an overall pace you want to run for all of your legs – goals are good.
  • Don’t overtrain – fatigue is bad.  Injury worse.
  • Next week a few multiday runs will help to understand how to stay fueled and hydrated.  Eating gets tough at the point you most will need it (legs 4-6).

More soon – couldn’t be more excited!

4 Responses

  1. Wait, you’re supposed to enjoy running? (Kidding, kidding.)

  2. Thanks!

    I think you mentioned in a post eariler that the hardest part is finding time to run. Higdon’s plan calls for the shorter runs during the week, which work perfectly with my 9-6 work schedule, and the longer runs to be on the weekends. I could possibly do two short runs a day – one in the morning before work and one in the evening after work – but I’m afraid there’ll be too much time in between to be useful.

    I’m probably making this way more complicated than it needs to be 🙂

  3. Great tips! I’ve started running twice a day every other day. One run will be kinda short (between 2-4 miles) and the other one will be kinda long (5-7 miles). Mornings are tough because my bones hurt and body is tight, but I stretch for about 20 minutes and eat a little handful of cereal and it seems to work out alright. I’m not sure I know the line where over-training begins.

    I’m trying to compare how I run now with the Hal Higdens guide which I begin August 11 and trying to find ways to mix the two. I think one of you guys mentioned to bunch up a few runs from his guide into two days, but that’ll leave me with 3-4 days of no running… I’d like to run to stay in the game, but would that be overdoing it?

    • If you are running the Higdon plan for the Charlotte Marathon then I think you will be fine by just adding on a few days where you run 2-3 times in a day on your shorter days. As you ramp up your miles you will want to ensure you spend the right time recovering before adding significantly more miles. Most of all, listen to your body – if it hurts on a day when you plan to run several times or many miles you might want to back off and rest an extra day. If all else fails run until you no longer enjoy it and then stop for a bit.

Leave a Reply

